Monday, 24 October 2016

Brown, Gregg Kofi: Rock 'N' Roll UFOs

Brown, Gregg Kofi: Rock 'N' Roll UFOs
Guitarist Greg Kofi Brown is a member of the African funk band Osibisa. He was discovered by the band while performing in London with Peter Green. On his new album Rock 'N' Roll And UFOs the funk rock pioneer digs deep through his catalogue offering a career anthology. He enlists the help of some fine guest artists like guitarist Dominic Miller (Sting), keyboardist John Rabbit Bundrick (formerly of The Who) and the cast of The Who's Tommy plus many more.

On these seventeen tracks Brown's soulful voice and heavy bottom end serves the dance floor rather well covering soul, funk, pop and disco. Some of his best tracks are unplugged such as the pretty acoustic ballad "All The Way For You" featuring Dominic Miller on guitar and the uplifting message of "Open Up My Arms" with Gus Isidore on guitars. On the catchy dancefloor pop of "How Can I" Bundrick offers some nice keyboard layers while the soulful "Whisper In The Wind" features smooth lead vocals and a glistening pop groove with a splash of reggae.
For the most part these are good tunes, the one misstep being a disco version of The Who classic "Listening To You" which just doesn't work. At least the album gets back on track with a couple of acoustic tunes, the poignant and insightful "Freedom's Ring" and the breezy "Summer Rain". 
For what is essentially a pop album, Rock 'N' Roll And UFOs is a fine listen, filled with nicely crafted melodies and uplifting soulful beats.
Released on Gonzo Multimedia.
Track Listing:
1. Chasing Shadows
2. How Can I
3. All The Way For You: Unplugged
4. N'Kosi B
5. Open Up My Arms
6. Shadow: Hughs Dance Mix
7. Tender Eyes: Unplugged
8. This Guy
9. Wake Up In The Morning
10. Whisper In The Wind
11. Listening To You
12. Freedom's Ring: Unplugged
13. Summer Rain: Unplugged
14. Freedom's Ring: The Groove Mix
15. Take Your Time
16. Tricky Situation
17. Perfect Rainbow
Added: October 20th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 10
Language: english


Rock n Roll & UFOs Gregg Kofi Brown Anthology
CD - £9.99

No comments:

Post a Comment

What happens when you mix what is - arguably - the world's most interesting record company, with an anarchist manic-depressive rock music historian polymath, and a method of dissemination which means that a daily rock-music magazine can be almost instantaneous?

Most of this blog is related in some way to the music, books and films produced by Gonzo Multimedia, but the editor has a grasshopper mind and so also writes about all sorts of cultural issues which interest him, and which he hopes will interest you as well.