What happens when you mix what is - arguably - the world's most interesting record company, with an anarchist manic-depressive rock music historian polymath, and a method of dissemination which means that a daily rock-music magazine can be almost instantaneous?

Most of this blog is related in some way to the music, books and films produced by Gonzo Multimedia, but the editor has a grasshopper mind and so also writes about all sorts of cultural issues which interest him, and which he hopes will interest you as well.

Monday, 20 August 2012



Hands up, I never really got the fuss about Captain Beefheart. For sure, I quite liked his album with Frank Zappa, "Bongo Fury", but I was doing a lot of highly illegal things at the time. But in the cold light of day, it was just so much noodling and a walrus barking. But some folks still rate him, so I'll do my best to tell you all about this release.

Back in 1972 Captain Beefheart pumped out two albums - "The Spotlight Kid" and "Clear Spot" - as well as touring the UK and Europe with the Magic Band. He did two concerts at the Royal Albert Hall, and on April 12th, during the European leg of the tour, they stopped off at the Beat Club studios in Bremen, Germany to film a session. They filmed five numbers, but only one of them has been officially broadcast prior to this release. The band at the time included Captain Beefheart, natch, on vocals and harp, Rockette Morton on guitar and bass, Zoot Horn Rollo on guitar, Orejon on bass, Ed Marimba on drums and my favourite, Winged Eel Fingerling on guitar.

You can tell it's the seventies because the set starts off with a bass solo. Yes, a bass solo. "Mascara Snake", it's called. And it's a bass solo. Then it's off into two takes of 'Click Clack' from "The Spotlight Kid", the then unreleased 'Golden Birdies', a few versions of 'I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby' and 'Steal Softly Thru the Snow' from "Trout Mask Replica", with Beefheart adding some clarinet to the madness that is on offer. It sounds good enough, as it should, but the camera work is very much of its time. I don't know whether they were deliberately trying to match the music, or whether they'd handed over the cameras to a bunch of drunken ADHD sufferers, but it's certainly not easy on the eye.

Fans of Captain Beefheart & The Magic Band will lap this up, despite its short running order, as there isn't that much decent audio and video from their glory days, but for anyone looking to start on his music, I wouldn't start here.

Track Listing

1) Mascara Snake (bass solo)
2) Click Clack 1
3) Click Clack 2
4) Golden Birdies
5) Band Intros
6) I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby 1
7) I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby 2
8) Steal Softly Thru the Snow
9) I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby 3

Buy DVD From Amazon

No virus found in this message


  1. So it's not listed on Amazon nor on your Gonzo site. What's the problem with it?

  2. AMAZON:


    We aim to please :)



Copyright 2010 The Gonzo Daily.

Theme by WordpressCenter.com.
Blogger Template by Beta Templates.