What happens when you mix what is - arguably - the world's most interesting record company, with an anarchist manic-depressive rock music historian polymath, and a method of dissemination which means that a daily rock-music magazine can be almost instantaneous?

Most of this blog is related in some way to the music, books and films produced by Gonzo Multimedia, but the editor has a grasshopper mind and so also writes about all sorts of cultural issues which interest him, and which he hopes will interest you as well.

Thursday, 19 July 2012

ERIK NORLANDER: Another great Portuguese review


Review: The Galactic Collective: Definitive Edition (Erik Norlander)

The Galactic Collective: Definitive Edition (Erik Norlander)
(2012, Think Tank Media)

As a way to honor one of the most important musicians of the recent progressive rock, Erik Norlander, Think Tank Media offers two pieces to true collectors. The generically titled Galactic Colletive includes two boxes with double audio CD and DVD each. The first approach here is subtitled Definitive Edition and is an anthology of the best moments created by the American musician, known for how you approach and explores the sounds of keyboards and synthesizers, including the Moog. Lovers of the keyboards in this work have a real Bible with a set of compositions grand and epic, full of technique and beauty entirely instrumental, with the exception of some notes corals. Over the nearly eighty minutes of the first CD, Erik Norlander presents us with some of his greatest hits not only on behalf individually and in his compositions for Lana Lane and Rocket Scientists. In name, the main representation rises from his debut album, Threshold, 1997, with three themes, Arrival, and Neurosaur Trantor Station. Into The Sunset (2000) appears Dreamcurrents a sensational solo piano piece, the rock opera Music Machine (2003) is present Sky Full Of Stars and Seas Of Orion (2004) is represented with Fanfare For Absent Friends. From his work to two themes emerge Lana Lane, Garden Of The Moon (album of the same name dated 1998) and Astrology Prelude (from Secrets Of Astrology, 2000). With the Rocket Scientists appear After The Revolution (Revolution Road - 2006) and The Dark Water, a 20-minute epic that appears in six parts divided by three albums (Brutal Architecture, 1995; Oblivion Days, 1999 and Looking Backward, the 2006), and which first appears in the form of a single track. The second CD has four tracks, three alternate versions of themes that have appeared on a CD. A version of Sky Full Of Stars where Erik Norlander exchange synthesizers for piano and choir, a long version of Garden Of The Moon and a new look for The Dark Water increased by over four minutes with the addition of extra guitar solos and synthesizer and a jam of various sounds and noises. The bouquet is completed with a further issue of Rocket Scientists, Space: 1999, album Oblivion Days (1999). The DVD consists of footage of these issues in the classroom followed by brief comments of his own Erik Norlander. This is a work that can be dispensed, who already has everything a musician's time presents no novelty, but for those who want to know further their work turns out to be a fundamental work. The true fans and collectors, in turn, can not lose!

CD 1:
1. Arrival
2. Neurosaur
3. Fanfare For Absent Friend
4. Sky Full Of Stars
5. Astrology Prelude
6. Trantor Station
7. After The Revolution
8. Garden Of The Moon
9. Dreamcurrents
10. The Dark Water

CD 2:
1. Space: 1999
2. Sky Full Of Stars - piano and vocal version
3. Garden Of The Moon - long version
4. The Dark Water

1. Main Titles / Arrival
2. Neurosaur
3. Introductory Interview
4. Interview: Neurosaur
5. Interview: Fanfare For Absent Friend
6. Fanfare For Absent Friend
7. Interview: Sky Full Of Stars
8. Sky Full Of Stars
9. Interview: Astrology Prelude
10. Astrology Prelude
11. Interview: Trantor Station
12. Trantor Station
13. Interview: After The Revolution
14. After The Revolution
15. Interview: Garden Of The Moon
16. Garden Of The Moon
17. Interview: Dreamcurrents
18. Dreamcurrents
19. Interview: The Dark Water
20. The Darkwater / End Credits

Erik Norlander - keyboards, piano and synthesizers
Freddy DeMarco - guitars
Nick LePar - drums
Mark Matthews - bass
John Payne - guitars and Neurosaur After The Revolution, coral Neurosaur
Marc McCrite - acoustic guitar on Sky Full Of Stars and Dreamcurrents
Ron Redfield - soil and Astrology Prelude After The Revolution
Lana Lane - After The Revolution in corals and Sky Full Of Stars - piano and vocal version
Mitch Perry - guitars After The Revolution

And check out their dedicated Gonzo artist page for Asia featuring John Payne, and for Erik solo

No comments:

Post a Comment


Copyright 2010 The Gonzo Daily.

Theme by WordpressCenter.com.
Blogger Template by Beta Templates.